Updated October 7, 2026 · My Single Property Websites
There is no national limit. Each MLS sets its own, so the same shoot can fit in one market and be cut in the next. Here is what eight MLSs say on their own help pages:
| MLS | Photo cap | Rule for the first photo |
|---|---|---|
| SmartMLS (CT) | 40 | Not stated |
| Unlock MLS (TX) | 40 | A photo of the front is required; the slot isn't specified |
| Canopy MLS (NC/SC) | 48 | Not stated |
| MLS Now (OH) | 50 | Front exterior, entered within 48 hours of the listing |
| Stellar MLS (FL) | 50 | Front exterior, unless slot 1 is a water view or an aerial; then the front exterior goes second |
| CRMLS (CA) | 75 | Doesn't have to be exterior, but one photo must show a substantial part of the exterior |
| Doorify MLS (NC) | 100 | Not stated; at least 3 photos required on residential listings |
| ARMLS (AZ) | No limit | Not stated |
Checked on each MLS's own site in October 2026. Most of those pages were updated in 2025 or 2026; the Stellar handout is undated, and the ARMLS figure comes from a 2021 post. The CRMLS first-photo rule is from its 2026 photographs and media FAQ. We couldn't find a published photo cap from Bright MLS, HAR, MRED, NWMLS or NorthstarMLS, so they aren't listed. If your MLS isn't here, search its help center for "photo" or check its rules and regulations: the number is usually on the photo upload help page.
We looked at 819 agents who built a listing site on our platform between October 2023 and September 2026, taking each agent's most recent site with at least one photo. Our sites have no photo cap, so the counts show how many photos agents actually chose to post:
| Photos on the agent's latest site | Share of agents |
|---|---|
| More than 33 (Zillow's average) | 21% |
| More than 40 (the SmartMLS and Unlock MLS cap) | 13% |
| More than 50 (the MLS Now and Stellar MLS cap) | 5.5% |
| More than 75 (the CRMLS cap) | 0.5% |
Source: My Single Property Websites production data, pulled October 7, 2026. Aggregate counts only; no individual site is identified. Median 15 photos; the top 10% of agents posted 44 or more, and the largest latest site had 108. Across all 3,750 sites built in the window (not one per agent), 528 had more than 50 photos and 21 had more than 100.
So most listings fit under any cap in the table. The ones that run over are the biggest shoots, and that is where choosing the MLS set matters most.
It depends on the MLS. Of eight MLSs whose help pages we checked in October 2026, SmartMLS and Unlock MLS allow 40 photos, Canopy MLS 48, MLS Now and Stellar MLS 50, CRMLS 75 and Doorify MLS 100, and ARMLS said in a 2021 post that it has no limit. Your MLS's photo rules page is the authority.
Zillow says the average listing on Zillow includes 33 photos (Zillow, "Elements of a High-Performing Listing"). On our platform, the median agent's latest single property website has 15, and the busiest 10% have 44 or more.
In some MLSs, yes. MLS Now requires the first photo to be the front exterior. Stellar MLS requires a front exterior first unless the first photo is a water view or an aerial, in which case the front exterior goes second. Unlock MLS requires a front photo but doesn't say which slot. CRMLS says the primary photo does not have to be an exterior, as long as one photo shows a substantial part of the exterior.
Choose the MLS set on purpose: the required lead photo, one strong photo of every room a buyer will ask about, then the extras in walk-through order, cutting near-duplicates first. Put the full shoot on a single property website, which has no photo cap, and share that link wherever your MLS rules and your marketing allow.
Yes, and it's set the same way, MLS by MLS. See how long a listing description should be, which includes a free checker for your draft.
A dedicated website for one listing, with no photo cap and an AI sales agent answering buyers day and night.
Start free Is your listing AI-ready? Free grader →Related: What to put on a single property website · How long a listing description should be · Fair housing word checker · Guides